A banking institution with a unique history, Herget Bank started as a privately owned facility called, “George Herget and Sons” (William and Henry were the sons) on April 17, 1905. The original Bank building was located at the corner of Fourth and Court (currently the home of a restaurant). Erected in 1870 by brothers John and George Herget, the building served as a wholesale grocery and liquor store until it was remodeled to house the private banking institution in 1905.
A renamed “Herget National Bank of Pekin” received a national bank charter in 1910. Over the years, the original Bank building underwent several remodeling ventures, finally culminating with the construction of a new Bank building at the corner of Fourth and St. Mary streets in 1958, where the Main Bank is still located.
Over the years, the Bank has been remodeled several times, with the most recent being the downtown facility in 2000. Herget’s employees and local ownership make it an ideal place to bank. At Herget, we’re always willing to go the extra mile to help our customers and the community. Contact us and see why it’s great to be part of the Herget family!